Two ECE faculty members honored on VT Faculty Entrepreneur Hall of Fame | ECE | Virginia Tech


Two ECE faculty members honored on VT Faculty Entrepreneur Hall of Fame

ECE professor emeritus Richard Claus and ECE professor Fred Lee are among the first honored on the new Virginia Tech Faculty Entrepreneur Hall of Fame. The six faculty members chosen this year were inducted at the Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center's 20th annual banquet on April 25, 2012.

Robert Walters, Virginia Tech's vice president for research, says the inductees "have been accountable for making substantial contributions to three elements of the mission of Virginia Tech: teaching, research, and service."

Claus is the founder and president of NanoSonic, Inc. Founded in 1998, NanoSonic currently employs more than 70 people and has contracts from a range of companies, including NASA, Lockheed Martin, Boeing, and Northrop Grumman. According to NanoSonic's website, the company "specializes in the design and manufacture of innovative materials, especially new materials that are currently unavailable in the commercial market."

The Hall of Fame announcement states that "Claus has won international awards for research from professional organizations and government agencies, including the Institute of Electronics and Electrical Engineers, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Instrument Society of America, SPIE the International Society for Optical Engineering, and NASA."

Lee is the director of the Center for Power Electronics Systems (CPES). According to its website, CPES "is a $4 million/year research center dedicated to improving electrical power processing and distribution that impact systems of all sizes." The Hall of Fame announcement states that, "CPES has been cited as a model ERC for its industrial collaboration and technology transfer, as well as education and outreach programs."

"Lee has served as president of the IEEE Power Electronics Society, was a member of the board of directors for Zytec and Artesyn, and was chairman of the board for VPT, Inc.; Cyntec; and the Delta Environment and Education Foundation. Lee was named to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in 2011."