Virginia Tech® home

ECE Faculty Honors and Awards

Chen-Ching Liu (2020) 

For contributions to computational methods for power system restoration and cybersecurity.

Dushan Boroyevich (2014) 

For advancements in control, modeling, and design of electronic power conversion for electric energy and transportation.

Fred C. Lee (2011)

For contributions to high-frequency power conversion and systems integration technologies, education, industry alliances, and technology transfer.

Arun G. Phadke (1993)

For contributions to the field of digital control, protection, and monitoring of power electrical systems.

Harpreet S. Dhillon (2023)

For contributions to heterogeneous cellular networks.

Haining Wang (2020)

For contributions to network and cloud security.

Walid Saad (2019)

For contributions to distributed optimization in cooperative and heterogeneous wireless systems.

Guo-Quan (G.Q.) Lu (2018)

For development of materials and packaging technologies for power electronics modules.

R. Michael Buehrer (2017)

For contributions to wideband signal processing in communications and geolocation.

Jung-Min (Jerry) Park (2017)

For contributions to dynamic spectrum sharing, cognitive radio networks, and security issues.

Lamine Mili (2016)

For contributions to robust state estimation for power systems.

T.-C. Poon (2016)

For contributions to optical image processing and digital holography.

Yue (Joseph) Wang (2016)

For contributions to genomic signal analytics and image-based tissue characterization.

Khai Ngo (2015)

For contributions to unified synthesis and modeling of switched-mode converters.

Y. Thomas Hou (2014)

For contributions to modeling and optimization of wireless networks.

Michael S. Hsiao (2013)

For contributions to automatic test pattern generation of integrated circuits.

Luke Lester (2013)

For contributions to quantum dot lasers.

Timothy Sands (2010)

For contributions to metal/semiconductor interfaces and heterogeneous integration.

Dong S. Ha (2008)

For leadership in VLSI design and test.

Jih-Sheng (Jason) Lai (2007)

For contributions to high performance high power inverters.

Dushan Boroyevich (2006)

For advancement of control, modeling and design of switching power converters.

Jeff Reed (2004)

For contributions to software defined radio.

Krishnan Ramu (2001)

For contributions to the development of AC and switched reluctance motor drives.

Saifur Rahman (1998)

For contributions to electric power engineering education.

Marius K. Orlowski (1997)

For contributions to the modeling of MOSFET devices and technology.

Chen-Ching Lui (1994)

For contributions to development of knowledge-based systems for power system applications.

Charles W. Bostian (1992)

For contributions to and leadership in the understanding of satellite path radio wave propagation.

Sedki M. Riad (1992)

For contributions to time-domain measurement s through physical modeling of sampling devices.

Amir I. Zaghloul (1992)

For contributions to the application of phased array antennas to communications satellite systems.

Fred C. Lee (1990)

For contributions to high-frequency quasi-resonant and multiresonant converters and for the development of a program of engineering education in power electronics.

Warren Stutzman (1989)

For contributions to wave propagation through the natural environment and antenna synthesis.

David de Wolf (1988)

For contributions to wave propagation theory in random media and to the numerical simulation of wave and particle beams by phase-space methods.

Gary S. Brown (1986)

For contributions to the understanding and application of electromagnetic scattering from rough surfaces.

Arun G. Phadke (1980)

For contributions to the application of digital computers to power systems.

ABET Fellow

  • Scott Dunning (2019)

American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering Fellow

  • Yue (Joseph) Wang (2004)

Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society Fellow

  • Amir Zaghloul (2011)

Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association (AAIA) Fellow

  • Harpreet S. Dhillon (2022)

Association of Energy Engineers

  • Scott Dunning (2015)

Institute of Physics

  • T.-C. Poon (2014)
  • Richard Claus (2001)

National Academy of Inventors

  • Timothy D. Sands (2012)
  • Alan Michaels (2022)

National Science Foundation Fellow

  • Arthur Ball (2006)

Materials Research Society

  • Timothy D. Sands (2009)

OSA Fellow

  • T.-C. Poon (1998)
  • David de Wolf (1991)

Pratt Fellow

  • Arthur Ball (2008)

SPIE Fellows

  • Luke Lester (2013)
  • Anbo Wang (2010)
  • T.-C. Poon (1999)
  • Richard Claus (1992)

ASCE Normal Medal

  • Richard Claus (1999)

ASME Adaptive Structures and Material Systems Prize

  • Richard Claus (1998)

ASEE James H. McGraw Award 

  • Scott Dunning (2018)

ASEE Frederick J. Berger Award

  • Scott Dunning (2015)

IEEE Industrial Electronics Society Anthony J. Hornfeck Service Award

  • Krishnan Ramu (2010)

IEEE-USA Professional Achievement Award

  • Saifur Rahman (2010)

IEEE Centennial Medal

  • Richard Claus (1994)



HKN Technical Achievement Award

  • Arun Phadke

SPIE Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Richard Claus (2002)

SPIE Harold E. Edgerton Award

  • Luke Lester (2012)

SPIE Dennis Gabor Award

  • T.-C. Poon (2016)

Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Kristie Cooper (2024)
  • Kendall Giles (2024)
  • Arthur Ball (2022)

Virginia Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Richard Claus (2004)

HKN Outstanding Teaching Award

  • Dushan Boroyevich (1994)
  • Richard Claus (1982)

Wine Award Winners for a history of teaching excellence

  • Jaime De La Ree (2009)
  • William Baumann (2005)
  • Tim Pratt (2004)
  • Charles Bostian (1982)

Sporn Award Winners for excellence in introductory courses

  • Jaime De La Ree (2004)
  • Jason Thweatt (2002)
  • G.Q. Lu (1995)
  • Richard Claus (1984)

Edward S. Diggs Teaching Scholars

  • Tom Martin (2011)

Provost's Award for Excellence in Advising

  • Leslie Pendleton (2001)

Award for Exellence in Career Advising

  • Leslie Pendleton (1993 - 1994)

Excalibur Award for Teaching with Technology

  • Tom Martin (2014)
  • Joe Tront (2005)
  • Scott Midkiff (2004)

Alumni Award for Excellence in International Education

  • Sedki Riad (2011)

Pete White Chair for Innovation in Engineering Education

  • Joe Tront (2010 - 2012)

Sloan Research Fellowship

  • Paul Plassmann (2016)

Franklin Award

  • Arun Phadke (2008)

Virginia Scientist of the the Year

  • Richard Claus

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

  • Tom Martin (2006)
  • Sanjay Raman (2000)


  • Ruoxi Jia (2023)
  • Dong Dong (2022)
  • Yuhao Zhang (2021)
  • Ryan Williams (2021)
  • Mona Ghassemi (2020)
  • Xiaoting Jia (2019)
  • Guoqiang Yu (2018)
  • Yang (Cindy) Yi (2018)
  • Vassilis Kekatos (2018)
  • Qiang Li (2017)
  • Walid Saad (2013)
  • Jo Baker (2012)
  • Yaling Yang (2011)
  • Paul Ampadu (2010)
  • Masoud Agah (2008)
  • Leyla Nazhandali (2008)
  • Jung-Min Park (2008)
  • Patrick Schaumont (2007)
  • Yong Xu (2007)
  • Tom Martin (2005)
  • Allen MacKenzie (2005)
  • Thomas Hou (2004)
  • Dan Stilwell (2003)
  • Michael Hsaio (2001)
  • Mark Jones (1997)
  • Luke Lester (1995)
  • G.Q. Lu (1995)

Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigator Awards

  • Walid Saad (2015)
  • Thomas Hou (2003)
  • Dan Stillwell (2003)

NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow Award

  • Louis Guido (1992)

NSF Young Investigator Award

  • Lamine Mili (1993)

Alumni Distinguished Professors

  • Charles Bostian (Emeritus)

University Distinguished Professors

  • Fred C. Lee
  • Arun Phadke (Emeritus)
  • Dushan Boroyevich

Alumni Research Award Winners

  • Richard Claus (1994)
  • Fred Lee (1990)